What Are The Seven Elements Of Interior Design

The first main points that any interior designer learns includes the 7 elements of interior design. Here is an overview of each of these elements.

1. Space

Interior design involves the design of interior spaces. Interior spaces are defined by different structural elements like floors, ceilings, columns, and walls. When it comes to interior design, an “empty space” is known as a “negative space”, and any objects inserted into this space will contribute to a “positive space”. A balance should be accomplished between the positive and the negative.

2. Lines

The 3 line types that interior design uses include dynamic, vertical, and horizontal. Lines are also a basis for every form and object, and lines define them. Examples of forms and objects that are used include lamps, decor elements, and furniture. However, these lines are a lot more prominent in structural elements such as beams, columns, windows, doors, and stairs. Knowing the correct way to utilize lines when designing spaces is among the best tools for any designer.

3. Form

Lines make up the foundation of forms. They also give these forms shape. The 2 primary forms include natural and geometric and are either open or closed. Forms are not just 2D, but mostly 3D. A bedroom is considered an open form as you are able to walk into them such as a bathtub or shower. Plants, furniture, and most decor elements like lamps and mirrors are regarded as closed forms. Understanding how forms should be used within a space or room is essential to achieve a desirable feeling of that space.

4. Light

For Houz interior design company, Light enables us to see spaces that surround us and forms and lines used within. Natural and artificial light are the two main types. Experienced designers will know how to plan a room or space and select colors based on how much natural light the room receives. They will also know how to create a balance using artificial light when the sun has gone down. Artificial light is broken down into 3 types which include accent, task, and ambient.

5. Color

It is not possible to view colors without the presence of light, which means these are the 2 elements that work hand-in-hand. Choosing the right color palette is among the most vital tasks when it comes to designing interiors. It is important to know that every color carries an intrinsic quality. For example, red inspires action, while greens and blues promote peacefulness, groundedness, and calm.

6. Texture

Texture is classified into two types which include actual and visual. Visual texture, similar to color, also works with light. What you see provides you with a sense of what something will feel like when you touch it. Actual texture involves what something really feels like when you touch it. For example, brick walls feel rough, and at certain points sandy, cold, and sharp. While a wallpaper that has a brick-wall texture will appear cold, sandy, sharp, and rough. This displays the differences between actual and visual texture.

7. Pattern

Patterns also require light. When it comes to interior design, patterns are repeated decorative elements. Patterns are also not always so obvious like on textiles or wallpaper. They are often also used throughout spaces to create a feeling of harmony and uniformity.

For more about this, you can contact houz.

Leave a Comment